South Australia

SA Government begins consultation on second stage of Inner Metro Growth Project

THE South Australian Government last week announced the start of consultation on the second stage of the Inner Metro Growth Project, which aims to promote renewal of suburbs close to the city and existing infrastructure.

Planning Minister John Rau said the second stage extends the project to additional council areas including Holdfast Bay, Charles Sturt as well as extending the stage 1 changes in other areas.

"Stage one of the project has been extremely successful with more than $250 million of investment in the pipeline at the moment," Mr Rau said.

"We will be working in partnership with local councils to open up further opportunities along major corridors close to the CBD and selected middle suburbs.

"We want to create vibrant communities, housing choice, thriving main streets, reduced transport costs and emissions while protecting character areas."

Map of part of Inner Metro Growth Project area
Above: Map of part of Inner Metro Growth Project area / Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure.

Mr Rau said stage one of the project successfully initiated rezoning to increase building heights and housing density for key corridors in inner and middle suburbs.

"Stage two builds on this and opens the discussion to look at options for further rezoning in areas currently being used for commercial or mixed use in conjunction with the City of Burnside, Charles Sturt, Holdfast Bay, Mitcham, Norwood, Payneham and St Peters, Unley and West Torrens," he said.

According to the government, areas proposed to be included in the second stage include:

  • Inner and Middle East - Payneham Road, Fullarton Road, Nelson Street, Magill Road, The Parade, and Kensington Road. The Mixed Use and Business Zoned areas between Fullarton Road and Stephens Terrace will also be considered.
  • Inner and Middle South - King William Road, Goodwood Road, Unley Road, Belair Road, and Anzac Highway.
  • Inner and Middle West - Richmond Road, Sir Donald Bradman Drive, Grange Road, Crittendon Road, and Port Road.

Key Development Areas include:

  • Glenelg – includes the District Centre Zone, foreshore area and area adjacent to the Patawalonga and along Anzac Highway.
  • Keswick – includes the Le Cornu site and land around Leader Street, west of the Seaford train line.

The government will begin discussions with local council to determine the potential for mainly low to medium rise density residential development in suitable locations. Potential for high rise development above 10 storeys in Glenelg and Keswick will also be discussed and investigated.

The focus for the rezoning does not extend to residential and character areas.

More information about stage two of the Inner Metropolitan Growth Project is available from the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure website at <>.

Subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter

Newsletter Subscription - Banner

Urbanalyst Banner