Northern Territory

New members appointed to Northern Territory's Planning Commission

NORTHERN Territory Chief Minister Terry Mills and Minister for Lands, Planning and the Environment Peter Chandler last week announced the appointment of five experts to the new Planning Commission.

It follows the appointment last year of former Federal Member for Eden-Monaro, Gary Nairn, as Chair of the new independent planning body, which has been tasked with cutting red tape, speeding up procedures and identifying land for development.

"I am excited that the Territory now has an independent group with wide-ranging skills and extensive experience who will put in place much needed plans for the Territory's growth," Mr Mills said.

"The commission will plan for home building, transport links, commercial and industrial development, and essential facilities such as waste disposal," the Chief Minister said, adding that the body will also consult widely with the community.

Mr Mills said the commission's work will include infill building and residential development opportunities around Fannie Bay, Ludmilla and Nightcliff.

The five members appointed to the Commission for two years are:

  • Graham Bailey, a strategic planner and Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia;
  • David McHugh, an engineer and previous chief executive of the Department of Transport and Works;
  • Nicole Wheeler, an interior design specialist;
  • Dr Ken Johnson, who has developed the Desert Knowledge Precinct and the Desert Wildlife Park in Alice Springs; and
  • Denys Stedman, a chartered accountant.

The new appointees joined Development Consent Authority chairman, Peter McQueen, the Heritage Council chairman, Dr Brian Reed, the new NT Environment Protection Authority chairman, Dr Bill Freeland, Local Government Association representative Stuart Duncan, and commission chairman Gary Nairn for the first meeting last Friday.

Subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter

Newsletter Subscription - Banner

Urbanalyst Banner