Australian Capital Territory

ACT Cabinet reshuffle results in new Minister for Planning

ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher has announced new portfolios for ministers to allow for the inclusion of a sixth minister into Cabinet, Mick Gentleman, who gains responsibility for a number of portfolios, including planning.

"Existing ministers have kept their major portfolio responsibilities under these new arrangements reflecting their strong performance over past years and to maintain consistency in work that is underway particularly in major projects," the Chief Minister said.

The Deputy Chief Minister, Andrew Barr, will continue as Treasurer and Minister for Economic Development but also gains responsibility for Housing, which will combine land development, social housing and housing supply within one Minister's portfolio.

Simon Corbell, who loses the housing and planning portfolios, will remain as Attorney-General, Minister for Police and Emergency Services and Minister for Environment. Mr Corbell also takes on a new specific portfolio as Minister for Capital Metro.

In her statement last Friday, Ms Gallagher said the new Minister for Planning will be able to use his experience as the Chair of the Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning, Environment and Territory and Municipal Services. Mr Gentleman also takes on responsibility for community services, workplace safety and industrial relations, children and young people and ageing.

"This reallocation of portfolios strikes the right balance to maintain ministers in portfolios where they have extensive experience and interests but also bring a fresh look to important areas of government policy," the Chief Minister said.

"I thank my Ministerial colleagues for their assistance and patience whilst these new arrangements were finalised and look forward to working with a strong team of ministers to deliver strong and stable government for the ACT community.

"In particular, I welcome Mr Gentleman to the Cabinet and I look forward to working with him in the lead up to the next ACT election."

Ministerial responsibilities:

  • Katy Gallagher - Minister for Health, Minister for Higher Education and Minister for Regional Development;
  • Andrew Barr – Treasurer, Minister for Economic Development, Minister for Housing and Minister for Tourism and Events;
  • Simon Corbell - Attorney-General, Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Minister for the Environment and Minister for Capital Metro;
  • Joy Burch - Minister for Education and Training, Minister for Disability, Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Minister for Racing and Gaming, Minister for Women and Minister for the Arts;
  • Shane Rattenbury - Minister for Territory and Municipal Services, Minister for Corrective Services, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs and Minister for Sport and Recreation; and
  • Mick Gentleman - Minister for Planning, Minister for Community Services, Minister for Workplace Safety and Industrial Relations, Minister for Children and Young People Minister for Ageing.

Subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter

Newsletter Subscription - Banner

Urbanalyst Banner